Friday’s Favourite – Rubbermaid Storage Containers

 Today’s “Friday’s Favourite”; Rubbermaid Easy Find Lids storage containers.

Is it weird to love storage containers? Oh well, I don’t care. I LOVE these containers. In fact, I liked them so much, I bought two sets. Okay, that’s not really true…

When I first read about these a few years back, I had to go out to the store and see them for myself. I ended up buying the last one the store had (which had a dent on the corner of the box). It just so happened, that very same evening I saw the same set on sale in a flyer from a different store. The next day, I put the “dented” box in the backseat so I could return it. A couple of days later, I ended up going shopping and buying the set that was on sale. I kept putting off returning that first set, because I’ll admit, I am sometimes a bit intimidated (scared) of dealing with customer service. I was sure they were going to blame me for the dented box and not take it back. That box sat in my backseat “taunting” me for about two weeks. Finally, I decided it was not worth the trouble and a couple of dollars, so I also gave it a new home.  I have never regretted taking them in! As an added bonus, it also gave me the opportunity to clear out all my mismatched containers. Don’t worry, they went to new homes too.

Now I know these have been around a while, but every time I use them, I just keep getting reminded how great they are. The square shape makes so much more sense for containers, considering the fridge, freezer and cupboards are SQUARE. They stack nicely, both when in use and when stored empty. They never seem to stain, even though they are apparently not stain-resistant. Since they are clear, you don’t have to guess what is hiding inside them. They are just so darn useful.

According to the Rubbermaid website, they are safe for the dishwasher, microwave and freezer. I don’t have a dishwasher, so I will take their word for that. I have used them in the freezer, and they worked perfectly fine. I don’t put plastic in the microwave. I am not paranoid or anything, but why risk melting your containers? Besides, they mention to avoid staining or pitting: “do not reheat food high in salt, oil, fat, sugar or tomato”. Sheesh, too many “rules”! I am not likely to remember all those stipulations, let alone anyone else using them in the house. For those concerned about the plastic though, I just thought you might like to know that Rubbermaid has a list of their products and these containers are classified as BPA free.

Now on to our previosuly unscheduled program… Does this sound like you?

  • Are you are tired of playing the “match game” with all of your containers and lids
  • Is there is an avalanche every time you open you container cupboard (like in those cheesy infomercials)
  • Does your container collection consist of mainly old margarine, sour cream or yogourt containers?
  • Do you have trouble identifying your left-overs, because you think they are margarine, sour cream or yogourt?

If so, maybe it’s time to bring some new organization into your kitchen. Do yourself a favour and treat yourself to a new set of storage containers. Remember, Christmas is only 98 days away!!

In the meantime, I found this nifty little contest (for my fellow Canadians) where you can enter to win a Rubbermaid Premier gift pack (these are stain and odour resistant, and have Flex & Seal lids).

 http://www.divine.ca/en/food-and-home/giveaway/c_220_i_206/divineca-keep-it-fresh-1.html

You can enter every day. Hurry though, the contest only runs until the ed of this month. Good Luck!!

Leave a Reply

