Chicken Tuesday – Chicken Stuffing Bake

Okay, so it’s actually Thursday, but “Chicken Thursday” doesn’t have the same ring to it. 

I actually haven’t been cooking much chicken lately. It hasn’t really been on sale. Besides, I had tons of other stuff in the freezer that had been in there far too long that needed to be rescued. This week was it was pork chops and pork roast. I’ve decided I’m not much of a lover of pork, but since it goes on sale quite often and hubby loves it… it often makes its way into my grocery cart. It then ends up in the freezer, where I tend to avoid it for a while. Okay, so I did have the roast one night, but on the other nights I just had some soup or frozen breaded fish. Hubby can’t stand fish, so it’s a good trade-off. 

Anyway, back to “Chicken Tuesday” and the Chicken Stuffing Bake. I haven’t made this in a while, but it is one of my favourite fall/winter chicken recipes. It’s really tasty and very easy to make. 

I first tried this at a friend’s house, who admittedly did not really cook much. It was a recipe from their mom. I was impressed! I never did get the recipe, and actually forgot all about it, until I saw it in a magazine a few years later. Now it’s a household favourite. 

Here’s what you’ll need: 

  • 6 Chicken Breasts, boneless/skinless
  • 1 can Cream of Chicken soup
  • 6 thin slices of swiss cheese
  • 1 box of Stove Top stuffing mix

Directions: Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  Arrange the chicken breasts in a large casserole dish (8 x 12 or 9 x 13), so they are not overlapping. You can spray the casserole dish with cooking spray, but I never do with my glass casserole pan.  Place one slice of cheese on each chicken breast. Spread undiluted chicken soup over the cheese and chicken. Prepare stuffing according to package directions (I make mine in the microwave). You may need to add an extra 1/4 cup of water to make sure the stuffing is moist. Top the casserole with the stuffing mix. Bake uncovered for 1 hour. Cook it a bit longer if the chicken is not white (still a bit pink), when you pierce with a fork or knife tip.  

Notes: The original recipe calls for fat-reduced cheese and soup. It’s your call, but I don’t like paying extra for the fat-reduced versions. I will buy the fat-reduced soup if it’s on sale, but I often can’t even find it in the grocery store. As for the cheese, I just don’t like the way fat-reduced cheese cooks/melts. After making this a few times, I realized I could cut down on the cheese by sprinkling some shredded cheese on top of the stuffing, rather than using slices on each chicken breast. As an added bonus, it makes a nice crispy cheesy crust with the stuffing too. Unless the Stovetop stuffing is on sale, I substitute store brand. I also increase this two boxes to help stretch it and make it more filling. The next time I make this, I plan to try out a recipe to make my own stuffing mix. Wish me luck!! 

It is a great recipe for kids and picky spouses, because it doesn’t have any strong flavours. I personally think it needs garlic (because almost everything needs garlic IMHO). I always end up adding some garlic powder to mine when serving, but next time I will try to remember to sprinkle the chicken breasts with some garlic powder before adding the soup. 

If you want to make this extra-special, you can add some thinly sliced ham under the cheese slices to make a kind of “Cordon Bleu” version. If you’re feeling really fancy, maybe some black forest ham or even prosciutto. Be creative! Try playing around with the cheeses for a different flavour too. When sprinkling it on top of the stuffing, I’ve used a shredded cheddar blend (because that’s what I had in the house). It adds a bit of zing to the flavour. 

You can search the internet and find all kinds of variations of this recipe;  using cream of mushroom soup, cheese/no cheese, adding sour cream or milk, adding different herbs or spices, pouring the soup over the stuffing instead of under… the options are endless. This is the version I have made and served numerous times. This is my “tweaked” version. I can honestly say this is a TNT (Tried ‘N True) recipe that always turns out great.

I have another variation on this recipe that I’ll share next “Chicken Tuesday“…. stay tuned! 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    Thx for the great post, Tina! I have been suffering from the ‘I don’t know what to make for dinner’ blues and this gave me a great idea. Like your variations too! I have one tried & true recipe similar to this one (Savory Chicken Stuffing Bake – soup mixed w/milk, no cheese) that everyone loves. Now to find some nice chicken breasts on sale….

  2. TinaChase says:

    Hey Jen! Thanks for popping by. I know what you mean. Sometimes, I just don’t feel like cooking much. Often, I let whatever is on sale kind of inspire me. I find now with the blog, I am remembering recipes I used to make a lot and sort of forgot about. I also tend to want to cook more now that the weather has started cooling down. Hope you enjoy your chicken!

  3. Cindy Cormier says:

    Hi Tina, this recipe sounds good. I’m definitely going to make this for dinner soon. Thanks so much.

    1. TinaChase says:

      Hey Cindy! Glad you could pop by. Hope your family enjoys it. Let me know how it turns out… I figure you just can’t go wrong with chicken and stuffing!!

Leave a Reply

