Chicken Tuesday – Chicken Stuffing Bake (Part Deux)

I am a bit behind with my posts, and I know you have all been anxiously awaiting the 2nd Chicken Stuffing Bake recipe I promised last week (or perhaps not).

In any case, for those of you who are interested, here is the “original” given to me:

Chicken, Vegetable and Stuffing Casserole

  • 1 pkg. (6 oz.) STOVE TOP Stuffing Mix for Chicken
  • 1-1/2 lb.  boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 bag (14 oz.) frozen broccoli florets, thawed, drained
  • 1 can  (10-3/4 oz.) condensed cream of chicken soup
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1-1/2 cups  shredded Cheddar Cheese

PREHEAT oven to 400°F. Prepare stuffing mix as directed on package; set aside.

MIX chicken and broccoli in 13×9-inch baking dish. Stir in soup, milk and cheese; top with the prepared stuffing.

BAKE 30 min. or until heated through.

Chicken and Stuffing: In case any of you are wondering (like I did), you do not need to pre-cook the chicken. Even though it is raw, it does cook properly in the half hour. I only use 2 chicken breasts (maybe a pound at the most) but increase the stuffing to TWO packages. I just use store brand or pickup some extra boxes of the name brand when it’s on sale.

I have used other flavours of the stuffing mix, so don’t worry if you don’t have the “Chicken” flavour.

Broccoli: Hubby does not like broccoli, so I use frozen green beans, or mixed vegetables. I really like a mix that has baby carrots with green and yellow wax beans (Arctic Gardens brand). I have also used fresh green beans and/or baby carrots that I steamed in the microwave for a couple of minutes first.

Cheese: I don’t use nearly that much cheese. I use whatever cheese I have; any mild cheese will be good. If you sprinkle it on top of the stuffing, rather than mixing it with the casserole ingredients, you get a nice crunchy, cheesy topping. I find when it’s mixed in, the taste of the cheese just kind of “disappears”. Why add extra fat to your food, if you are not going to really benefit from the taste of it? With that in mind, you could probably just skip the cheese if you wanted.

Since this recipe does not require 6 whole chicken breasts (like the first recipe I posted), depending on the size of your chicken breasts, this version will most likely be less expensive to make.

The household consensus (all two of us), agree that this version is the better of the two.

Whichever “Chicken Stuffing Bake” recipe you prefer to make really depends on what kind of dinner you are looking to serve. The first version still needs a side serving or two of vegetables. This one is more of a complete casserole, even suitable for potlucks and large family gatherings.

There was a time when my hubby claimed not to be a “casserole” person. It made no sense to me, as I knew he liked all the ingredients that were going into the recipe. I couldn’t figure out why he has such an aversion to them, until I discovered that while growing up, a casserole in his household almost invariably involved a can of cream of mushroom soup. As I mentioned before, hubby can’t stand mushrooms… Once I assured him no mushrooms would become part of the dish, and he could even watch/help cook them to make sure I was telling the truth, casseroles were no longer taboo. Hooray!

I will be making this for our (Canadian) Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow. I am even going to try out a copycat/MYO (make your own) version of Stove Top stuffing. If it works out well, I’ll post the recipe for that too.

Whether you make this for a special occasion, or just an everyday dinner, I hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

Leave a Reply

