Chicken Tuesday – Peking Pork with Noodles

Okay, okay – it’s not a chicken recipe, but the pork marketers are always saying it is the “other white meat”. Truth is, I haven’t cooked much chicken lately. However, I bet you could try making this recipe with ground chicken. It might not taste as good though… I tried making it with ground beef once and it just wasn’t the same.  Just warning you…

So, if you happen to have a package of ground pork hiding in the back of your freezer (like I did), you really should try this recipe. I often forget about it, because it’s from a cookbook (and I keep most of my recipes on my computer so I can find them quickly). Today, I finally decided to retype the recipe and share it. It is one of our favourites. Maybe it will become a household favourite in your home too!

As you’ll note in the photo, we like it so much that we ate most of it before I remembered to take a picture! I also want to add, that you might want to consider making the meat sauce part in a pot (one you can fry in) rather than a wok. It makes a lot less mess, especially when reducing the sauce. Ask me how I know… better yet, just take my word for it!

Peking Pork and Noodles
(Egg Noodles in Peking Meat Sauce with Crunchy Toppings)

Ingredients
1/3 cup Brown Bean Sauce
2 TBSP Dry Sherry
2 tsp Sugar
¼ tsp crushed Hot Red Pepper
1 LB Ground Pork
2 scallions, chopped
1 TBSP grated fresh Ginger
2 Garlic cloves, minced
½ cup reduced-sodium Chicken Broth
1 LB Egg Noodles, preferably fresh Chinese
2 tsp Asian Sesame Oil or Peanut Oil
Garnished: Fresh bean sprouts, sliced celery, chopped cucumber, hot chilli oil

Directions
Whisk together sherry, sugar, hot pepper and bean sauce in a small bowl and set aside.

Using a large pot or frying pan, fry the ground pork over medium-high heat, until the meat is no longer pink (about 3 minutes). Add the garlic, scallions and ginger to the meat and stir-fry for about a minute.

Stir in broth and prepared bean/sherry sauce. Simmer about 5 minutes over medium-low heat, until the liquid is reduced by about half. (Note: This sauce can be made ahead, and stored in the fridge for up to 2 days. When ready to use, reheat on low.)

Cook the noodles in boiling, salted water until tender (about 3 minutes for fresh noodles; 8 minutes for dried). Drain noodles, and place in a large serving bowl.

Sprinkle the noodles with the sesame oil and toss. Add the meat sauce and toss again. Serve into individual bowls.

Garnishes can be placed in small serving bowls. Let everyone choose their own toppings. Enjoy!

My substitutions:

Brown Bean Sauce – 3 TBSP each Black Bean and Garlic Sauce, Hoisin Sauce
Fresh Ginger – 1/4-1/2 tsp ground Ginger
Crushed Hot Pepper – I omit this
Scallions – I use green onions
Noodles – I have used Udon (stir-fried) and regular pasta (Linguine works very well)
Crunchy Toppings – I stir-fry some vegetables and add to the meat sauce before mixing. Canned baby corn and water chestnuts are a nice addition. I often just use an Asian blend of frozen vegetables (Europe’s Best Zen Garden), which has pea pods, baby corn, red pepper and bean sprouts. Sometimes I stir-fry them from frozen, or just steam them in the microwave if I’m in a hurry.

Adapted from: Cookbook; 365 Ways to Cook Hamburger and Other Ground Meats

On your next “Chicken Tuesday”, why not try PORK – the other white meat?

Leave a Reply

