Chicken Tuesday ~ Oven-Fried Cinnamon Chicken

Well, I finally made a new chicken recipe that I want to share for “Chicken Tuesday“.

I have had this recipe tucked away in my recipe box for years (and years). I am not even sure how long. It’s a recipe card from “First” magazine, and I honestly can’t remember the last time I bought that magazine (or any magazine for that matter). A few years back, I stopped subscribing to magazines or giving in to the urge to pick one (or more) up while waiting in the check-out line. This way, I save money and hopefully a few trees too. Every once in a while I’d borrow a stack of magazines from the library. I really do enjoy curling up in a comfy chair with a glossy magazine and a nice cup of tea. I find it very relaxing, and I always seem to pick up an interesting tip or two. I am also a sucker for new recipes…

Nowadays, for the most part I look for recipes online. As much as professional organizers (and all other clutter buster types) like to assure us that EVERYTHING can be found online. I have discovered this is not always the case. I have a few tried and true recipes I’ve cut out from magazines over the years that I have fervently searched for online to no avail. I think I would jump through hoops to avoid having to type a recipe. Okay, maybe not hoops. Maybe I’d do a few enthusiastic jumping jacks. Maybe…

So, now that I’ve done some cardio finger exercises – here is the typed version of this recipe.

Oven-Fried Cinnamon Chicken

You can put this chicken together in just ten minutes. You’ll like the hint of familiar spice in an unfamilair place and the rich flavour produced by only two tablespoons of oil. The chicken retains its crispness even when cooled. ~ First Magazine

Makes: 4 Servings

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup of flour
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric (**See Notes)
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1 egg
  • 2 TBSP milk
  • 3 lbs chicken, cut into 8 pieces
  • 1/3 cup dry bread crumbs
  • 2 TBSP oil

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 375°F.
  2. Combine flour, salt, cinnamon, turmeric and pepper. Beat egg and milk. Coat chicken pieces with flour mixture.
  3. Combine bread crumbs and remaining flour mixture. Dip chicken into egg and coat with crumbs.
  4. Arrange in a roasting pan. Sprinkle with oil. Bake until crisp and brown, about 40 minutes.

Some Notes

Turmeric: I did not have turmeric, so I sprinkled some paprika, poultry seasoning and dried parsley in with the flour mixture.

Breadcumbs: Even though I had breadcrumbs, I decided to try using cornflake crumbs. I ended up needing more than the recipe called for (perhaps twice as much), but it made for a nice crispy coating.

Cooking Pan: I forgot how greasy chicken pieces can be, so next time I will cook these on a broiler pan so the chicken does not sit in the grease while cooking (as you can see in my photo).

Coating: Doing the multi-coating routine is a bit messy, and it’s really nice if you can get a helper. It was kind of awkward coating all the pieces in flour first, before doing the next steps (since you have to mix the remaining flour in with the crumbs). That being said, my helper (hubby) wondered aloud whether it was worth all the extra work (as compared to the Shake-and-Bake one step bag method). The consensus was “Yes, it sure was!”.

This chicken came out tender, juicy and very tasty. I will definitely make this again!

How about you? Are you going to try this recipe for “Chicken Tuesday”?

Leave a Reply

