Chicken Tuesday – Slow Roasted Chicken

It’s been a while since I’ve shared any posts for “Chicken Tuesday”. Here’s one I tried last week, that we thought turned out great!

Every once in a while our grocery stores have whole chickens on sale for $0.99 a pound. Since this is such a great deal, I will always pick up at least two. I always buy them in pairs, so I can cook two at a time in my big roasting pan. As much as I love my Lemon Roasted Chicken recipe, I was in the mood to try something different. I honestly don’t remember how I came across this recipe, but I am really glad I did.

Here’s the original recipe, on AllRecipes: Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Okay, just to get this out of the way, like other commenters, I found this neither “sticky”, nor did it taste like the rotisserie chicken I am used to. However, it is REALLY good. Hubby said it even gives my Lemon Roasted Chicken a run for its money (and he loves that recipe).

You should keep in mind that this is one of those recipes you have to plan ahead for, and make sure you’re going to be home. The key to the delicious, juicy flavour, is “marinating” overnight and then slow cooking at a low temperature. YUM!!

I didn’t follow the recipe exactly, as I read a bunch of the comments/reviews and adapted it from there. You can try the original recipe as is (link above), or adjust it according to your tastes and/or what you have in your spice rack. Here is my :

Slow Roasted Chicken

  • 1 whole chicken (3-4 lbs)
  • 1 cooking onion, peeled and quartered

Chicken Rub Mixture

  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp white pepper
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (or chili powder if you want it a bit less spicy, and because like me, maybe you have none)
  • 1/2 – 1 tsp garlic powder (use more if you love garlic – we do!)
  • 1/2 TBSP dried parsley
  • 1/2 tsp sage
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • Olive Oil (optional)

Directions

*Please read my notes (below) before following these direction.

  1. In a small bowl, mix together rub ingredients.
  2. Rinse chicken with cool water, and pat dry with paper towel. Remove giblets before rinsing, if included.
  3. Rub the spice mixture all over the chicken and inside too! Place the onion quarters inside the chicken. *See notes below “Dry Rub?”
  4. Place chicken in a large Ziploc bag (or double wrap with Saran wrap). Refrigerate your chicken overnight, or at least 4 to 6 hours.
  5. Preheat your oven to 250° F (yep, that low)
  6. Place your marinated chicken breast-side up in a roasting pan (without a rack) and bake uncovered for 5 hours. Baste  your chicken about every 30 minutes. You might not have any basting juices available until  the chicken has been cooking for about 2 hours.
  7. Remove chicken from oven once done the internal temperature reaches at least 180° F /85° C . I find the best places to test is on the thick part of the thigh, while avoiding touching the bone.
  8. Let the chicken stand for about 10 minutes.
  9. Drain off pan juices. Use for gravy or discard.
  10. Carve & Enjoy!

Some Notes

Double it up! This recipe was originally meant to be used with two chickens. Once I mixed together all the ingredients for the rub, it really did not look like enough for my two roasters. Follow this if you just want to cook one chicken, otherwise double the recipe. A lot of people recommended if you like the rub, you can mix up a big batch and keep it in a jar. Many people said they tried it on other meat besides chicken too.

Dry Rub? This recipe is meant to be a dry rub. I took the suggestion of several readers and instead mixed in some olive oil (maybe a few tablespoons) with the prepared rub mixture until it made a nice paste . You can also brush the chicken with some oil, and then apply the rub. This helps give it a bit of extra moisture and it sticks better too. If you are going to use Ziploc bags to marinate your chicken in, try putting the chickens in the bag BEFORE applying the rub. It was still a bit messy, but I think t would have been a lot messier trying to get the chickens into the bag AFTER it was coated.

Marinate: I left mine in the fridge overnight (around 12 hours). Some people said they skipped this part and put it in the oven right away, and it still tasted good. However, many said when they tried it again and left it overnight, it was much tastier.

Reviews: While most people rated this chicken 5 stars (out of 5), a few people complained that their chicken turned out DRY, and some even said they had no pan juices. I honestly don’t know that could be, unless their oven temperatures were way out of whack, OR they just blindly stuck it in the oven and walked away for 5 or 6 hours.

Perhaps a key point the recipe does not mention, is to baste your chicken. Most experienced cooks know this, but I guess you can’t assume. You also should not be cooking this chicken on a rack, it needs to sit on the bottom of the pan. Another thing someone mentioned; the recipe does not indicate whether to cook this breast side up or down. Like others, I cooked them breast side UP. I checked on the chickens every half hour or so, and then started basting after they’d been cooking for about 2 hours.  I’d say I had a good inch or more of pan juices for basting (and gravy if you want to make it).

Is it Ready? Since every oven is different, I personally think a good thermometer to be a wise investment. I bought an instant read digital thermometer a few months back, and I love it. I actually bought it for testing the water temperature when using yeast for baking, but it comes in handy for much more. It’s much faster and more accurate than my meat thermometer (the kind with a dial that you leave in). I can use the instant read one to quickly check different areas of the roast. This is especially useful with chicken, since the breast and the legs always seem to cook at different rates.

Once the chicken was done, we took it out of the pan and let it “rest” for a bit. I won’t make any jokes about it being tired…. The meat pretty much fell off the bone. It was juicy and delicious!

What to do with all this Roasted Chicken

We managed to make quite few meals out of these 2 chickens.

  • The first night we had Roast Chicken dinner with mashed potatoes and veggies.
  • Then I made Chicken Vegetable Stuffing Casserole
  • I also made a big batch of Zesty Chicken Enchiladas (I’ll have to post this recipe)
  • We also had several sandwiches;  just Chicken and Chicken Salad (with homemade rolls)

Freezing: If you don’t want to eat chicken every day for a week (like we did), you can freeze the cooked chicken. We take it off the bones and freeze it in ziploc bags. I’ll then use it in casseroles, soups, pizza or to add to pasta dishes.

Do you think you’ll be making this roast chicken recipe? If you decide to give it a try, please come back and let me know what you think…

Leave a Reply

