Chicken Tuesday – Fajita Marinade

I can’t believe it’s  Chicken Tuesday  again … so SOON! Where did the week go? I think some of the days went into hiding with the ever elusive SPRING weather.

Here’s a tasty little recipe for marinating your chicken to use in fajitas (or as I do – in enchiladas).

Chicken Fajita Marinade

recipe adapted from: Chicken Fajita Marinade

  • 1/4 cup beer (not lite beer)
  • 1/3 cup fresh lime juice (*I used bottled)
  • 1 tablespoon olive or canola oil
  • 2 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh cilantro (*I skipped this)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • salt to taste
  • 1 to 1-1/2 pounds of chicken; 4 servings (*I used boneless/skinless breasts)

The easiest way I have found to mix this up, is in one of my large measuring cups with a spout (for easy pouring), but you can just use a bowl if you prefer.  Place your chicken in a large ziploc bag (my favourite marinating method), or in a shallow non-reactive container (glass or plastic). Pour mixture over the chicken and marinate in the fridge for 1 – 3 hours.

No cooking instructions are provided with this recipe. For the boneless/skinless chicken breasts, I have cooked this both in a frying pan (skillet) as well grilled on the BBQ.

Notes:

Chicken – The recipe doesn’t really specify what kind of chicken. I used boneless/skinless breasts, but this might also work for bone-in (with our without skin) too.

Cilantro  – This is also known as Coriander.

However you refer to it, I just don’t like it. I once mistook a bunch of fresh cilantro, for flat leaf parsley which I then inadvertently used in some Bruschetta. YUCK!! To make matters worse, this was something I had prepared to take to a pot-luck get-together. Thankfully it was a networking meeting, and I only knew the person who invited me (meaning most people were just mingling about and occasionally snacking). Nobody mentioned anything. So, either they were polite or  most of the people who ate it don’t mind the taste of cilantro.

I Hate Cilantro
I Hate Cilantro

For those of you who are interested, there is a whole community of people who really don’t like cilantro/coriander: http://ihatecilantro.com/

Like many posters on there, I think it tastes like soap. BLECH!! This is supposed to be genetic. Apparently, you either love it or you hate it.

Beer – Many of you may be wondering (as I did), if there is something else you could substitute for the beer.

I was not worried about the alcohol (it all cooks off anyway).  We just don’t have beer in the house that often, so I have to plan ahead if I am going to make this recipe.  I mean, it is ONLY 1/4 cup. How much difference can it make to the recipe? Then there is the dilemma about what to do with the rest of the bottle/can? (My hubby generously/gladly takes care of  that problem for me).

If you search online, you can find a variety of substitution suggestions, but most warned that it will change the flavour. I use beer, and just buy whatever local brand is on sale. I guess unless you actually try one recipe with the beer, and then try making it again with a substitute, it’s hard to say how it will affect the taste.

Will you be making chicken tonight? If so, let me know what you think of this recipe.

Leave a Reply

