Banana Wheat Quick Bread

on

As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t bake very often. It’s not that I don’t enjoy baking, because I do. It’s just with only two of us in the house, a batch of baked goods is either too tempting or we can’t possibly eat it all up before it goes stale.

When it comes to Banana Bread, I love it.

 

Unfortunately, hubby doesn’t like anything remotely tasting or smelling of banana. I am not much of a banana eater myself, so I rarely buy them (perhaps once a year when I get a craving for peanut butter and banana on toast). I recently decided to pick up a few, and give them another chance, after reading an article about all the wonderful healthy benefits of bananas.

I bought a small bunch of three, figuring that was a good start. The first banana I ate as an afternoon snack, just as is. It was okay, but I admit there is just something about a banana on its own that does very little for me. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but I’m leaning towards the texture rather than the overall taste. The second banana got sliced up and made into a toasted peanut butter and banana sandwich. BIG improvement! I still would not want to eat this too often, but it was a tasty treat. The third banana sat on the counter for a few days. It was just starting to get some brown spots, and the whole kitchen began to smell like a big banana (much to the disapproving nose of hubby).

So, I decided the weekend was a good time to bake. I looked around for muffin and banana bread recipes. That’s when I discovered this tried & true recipe (in my recipe box). I used to make this quite often to bring into the office (to share).

Many years ago, I went on a quest to find my favourite Banana Bread recipe. I asked my mom for the one I used to make in high school, but she couldn’t remember the recipe I was talking about. Since this was before the days of the internet, I asked the next best source – my co-workers! I tested about half a dozen recipes before I decided on this one being the “winner”. It is really moist and (in my humble opinion) DELICIOUS!

I wish I could give credit to my co-worker (or more than likely my co-worker’s mother), but I did not make a note of that. Sorry former co-worker… whoever you are.

Banana Wheat Quick Bread

makes 1 Loaf (16 slices)
 

Ingredients

  • 1-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1-1/2 cup (3 medium) mashed, ripe bananas
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 TBSP orange juice
  • 1/4 tsp lemon juice (optional, but not sure why)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup raisins

My Version

  • Add 1 – 2 tsp of vanilla
  • Add 1/2 – 1 tsp cinnamon
  • Omit raisins (you could probably add nuts if you prefer, but I don’t)
  • If you don’t have enough banana, try substituting some applesauce. I ended up only having 1/2 cup of mashed banana, so I added 1 cup of applesauce. Wow! I think it is even better that way. It is so moist, and while it still tastes of banana, it is a bit milder.

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 350.
  2. Grease and flour bottom only of a 9×5 or 8×4 (inches) loaf pan.
  3. In a large bowl, combine all ingredients except raisins. Beat 3 minutes at medium speed. (I just mix by hand)
  4. Fold in raisins, and pour batter into baking pan.
  5. Bake 55 to 60 minutes.
  6. Cool 10 minutes, before removing from pan. Let cool on wire rack.
  7. Wrap tightly and store in refrigerator.

Notes

If you don’t have whole wheat flour, just replace that with more all-purpose. I am certain I’ve done that in the past.

Banana Bread freezes really well. Since I knew I would not be sharing my baked goods, I cut the loaf into three sections. I wrapped each section that I wanted to freeze, first in plastic wrap, then in foil paper. I popped the “packages” into a Ziploc bag (which I labeled and dated with a permanent marker) and put them in the freezer to enjoy at a later date.

I think it’s time to go enjoy a piece of banana bread and a cup of tea…

Let me know what you think, if you try this  Banana Bread recipe. Curious minds want to know (namely me) – Do you put butter/margarine on your banana bread?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I don’t put anything on banana bread -it’s yummy enough on its own!

    1. TinaChase says:

      You have a point. It sure is yummy just as is.

      I am not sure why I add butter (margarine)… I guess because my mother used to add it, so I continue to do so. It does taste really good that way too though! LOL

  2. Kevin West says:

    I put margarine on mine and then heat it up a bit.Yum.
    I love bananas and could eat them every day, but my wife could live without them.

    1. TinaChase says:

      Mmmm… sounds good. I never think to heat it up. Maybe I am too impatient? LOL

      I know lots of people love bananas, and I really wish I liked them more. I tried, but I think they’re going to have to be relegated to baking or the occasional peanut butter and banana sandwich. I love a whole bunch of other fruits (pardon the pun), so I’m okay with that.

Leave a Reply

