Friday’s Favourites – Microfibre Sponge

It’s been a while since I shared a Friday’s Favourite, so I thought I’d write about our kitchen sponge.

At first glance, this may not seem like a very exciting item, but don’t let its appearance deceive you. This sponge is a great addition to the kitchen!

I realize many homes use dishwashers, but even if you don’t handwash all your dishes (like us), there are always those stragglers in the sink that are banned from the dishwasher!

As you may have noticed, it’s a MICROFIBRE sponge. It’s gentle enough to clean your teflon pans and your stainless steel sinks. The back (not shown) has a meshlike surface that is super for cleaning almost any messy dish or utensil you throw at it, but still soft enough to not scratch your delicate glassware.

I LOVE that it really suds up well without needing a lot of dishwashing liquid too.

These little spomges will last quite a while, but you’ll know when it needs replacing because the (enclosed) sponge will start to feel thinner as you use it. Don’t ask me why, but I always see that as a sign it’s time to retire it.

You may be asking “Where can I find this great little sponge?”. Well, I always buy mine at the Dollar Store (Dollerama to be specific), but before I found them there I did buy them in the kitchen section of Loblaws/Superstore. The great thing about the Dollar Store, is that they (probably) will only cost you ONE dollar! I can get two or three for the price I was paying at the grocery store. I usually make sure I have a spare or two under the kitchen sink.

Now, I must warn you, the colour selection is pretty limited. I have only ever seen then in: Beige/Brrown, Gray (or Grey if you prefer), and the Blue/Grey (pictured above). This might be a deal breaker if you try to co-ordinate your sponge with your kitchen decor. I personally don’t mind these colours, considering many other sponges often come in colours that clash with my kitchen. Anyone for neon yellow or green?

Over the years, I have tried a variety of dish washing helpers; cloths, sponges, mini dishmops. For many years, I used the sponge with the refillable soap handle. If my microfibre sponge were to disappear from stores, I might consider returning to something like that again.

So, what is your favourite dish washing helper? Have you tried these microfibre sponges? If so, what did you think? If not, do you think you will?

Leave a Reply

