Sugar High – Blueberry Coffee Cake

Don’t you just love this time of year, when all the local fresh fruit and vegetables start showing up in the grocery stores and markets?

We have quite a few pick-your-own places nearby but I haven’t ventured out to them yet. I’ve thought about going, but I just have a strange feeling I’d end up with much more than I could possibly use. I really want to try canning this year, and seriously considered making jam, but there is only so much jam two people can eat. So, for now, I’ve decided the containers in the store seem just the right size for us.

I love most berries just on their own, but I especially like blueberries baked into things like muffins, pancakes and coffee cake. Here’s a tried and true (TNT) recipe I have been making for almost 20 years (I’m not that old, am I ?!?!). I have no idea where I got this recipe, but it has a favoured spot in my recipe box.

Blueberry Coffee Cake

Ingredients – Cake

  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup skim milk (I’ve used both 1% and 2%)
  • 1/2 cup plain low-fat yogourt (or try vanilla yogourt or even sour cream)
  • 3 TBSP vegetable oil
  • Optional: 1-2 tsp vanilla (this is my own addition)
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh (or frozen unsweetened) blueberries

Ingredients – Topping

  • 3 TBSP sugar (I use 2 TBSP brown sugar & 1 TBSP white)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon (increase to 1 tsp if you like cinnamon)
  • 2 TBSP finely chopped walnuts (I omit these)

Directions

  • Bake at 400 for approximately 30 minutes.

** I realize the instructions are pretty sparse, but that is all I have written down!

This recipe is pretty hard to mess up, but I’ll just tell you what I do…

Cake: Mix all the wet ingredients in one bowl, and the dry ingredients in another. I add the dry ingredients to the wet, but I don’t think it makes it a difference. Fold in the blueberries.

This makes a pretty thick/sticky batter, so add an extra teaspoon or two of milk if you’re have trouble mixing it. Pour (more like push) the batter into a square baking pan. There’s no need to grease the pan. I’ve cooked this in a glass pan, teflon baking pan and even a disposable aluminum foil pan. Heck I’ve even mixed all the ingredients in the foil pan when we were at someone’s cottage (I brought all the dry ingredients pre-measured and mixed in a Ziploc bag).

Topping: Mix up the topping ingredients in a small bowl. Sprinkle your topping evenly over the batter.

When I first started making this, I followed the recipe and did not use brown sugar in the topping. I found when using regular white (granulated) sugar the topping just kind of sat on top of the cake, and would basically fall off when you ate it. If you don’t have brown sugar, I recommend covering the cake with foil as soon as it comes out of the oven. If you leave it for a few hours, or even overnight, the topping will “melt” down somewhat. Using the brown sugar mixture seems to fix this problem.

Check your cake with a tester or toothpick (try to avoid the blueberries!), until it comes out clean. I always seem to have to cook this an extra 10 or 15 minutes… maybe it’s the pan I am using.

Lastly, eat and enjoy! It’s great just the way it is, warm or cold… and even tastier with a bit of whipped cream.

This is a really easy and delicious item to bring to a BBQ or picnic too. Just remember to bake it in a foil pan, so you don’t have to worry about getting your pan back! Although, it’s not likely there will be any left-overs…

 Do you have any favourite summer berry recipes?

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh my gosh, that just looks so good. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog till Monday night and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your coffee cake up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/06/sweets-for-saturday-23.html

  2. Regarding your comment on my pineapple pie, I’ll let you in on a secret, I used Cool Whip and just piped it on. 🙂

    1. TinaChase says:

      Thanks! I love making this… so easy and delicious!

  3. Vinny Grette says:

    This looks wonderful for a sometimes treat – delicious, not too too sugary, and with a good amount of nutrition. I’ll try it, perhaps with some of the white flour swapped out for whole grain. Thanks for posting! 🙂

    1. TinaChase says:

      Thanks Vinny! I find this recipe better than many other recipes I have found, because the fat (oil) content is fairly low and the sugar content is not too bad. I have tried swapping part of the flour with whole wheat and it turned out fine (but I don’t think I would replace more than half or it would be too dense). You could maybe try non-fat yogourt and perhaps swap out the oil with unsweetened apple sauce. I have not tried either of those substitutions, but they are fairly common options. Let me know how it turns out if you try it!

  4. Vinny Grette says:

    Yes, I’ve learned not to go overboard with the whole-grain flour if you want anybody to enjoy eating your final product :). I always use lo-fat/no-fat yogurt – in fact I make my own yogurt from lo-fat goats milk that is to die for! Might try that. Will let you know!

    1. TinaChase says:

      Very true about going overboard with the whole-grain flour! It would be great to hear back if you try any of those substitutions out. I have never tried anything made with goats milk, other than goats cheese. Good on you making your own yogurt! I thought about trying that at one time, but I am the only one that eats it. Maybe one day down the road… 🙂

Leave a Reply

