Friday’s Favourites – Brown Sugar Disc

Here’s a little gadget I’ve had in my kitchen for quite a few years. It’s a disc made of terra cotta clay, that you soak in water for 15 minutes, pat dry and then place it in a container with food items you want to soften (or keep soft).

Here you see my “Teddy” Disc keeping my brown sugar nice and soft. They can also be used with coconut, raisins, licorice, marshmallows, cakes, cookies, muffins etc.

It’s supposed to last about 3 months, but I have had mine in the brown sugar for probably over a year (even replaced the sugar), without having to re-soak the disc. If you start noticing that your food is no longer staying soft, just re-soak the disc again.

You should be able to find them in kitchen stores (or online) for around $3 or $4.  If you can’t find a “Brown Sugar” disc there is also one called the “Simply Soft” disc. If you don’t like the (cute) bear, when I searched online, I found a bunch of other styles; rooster, maple leaf, moose, muffin (maybe a cupcake). You get the idea….

I only have one for my brown sugar, but they are inexpensive enough that you could get separate ones for different food items you need to store and keep soft. They’d even make a nice little gift for a stocking stuffer, secret santa (oops! kind of early for Christmas) or in a gift basket with other kitchen/cooking type items.

It’s a nifty item, that is affordable, re-usable and really works! It’s one of my Friday’s Favourites….

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Nancy says:

    Your absolutely right when you say it keeps things moist for a long time.
    I probably have mine a few more years than you have and I’ve also given them as gifts.
    They are indispensable.

    Thank you for sharing practical things with your readers.

    1. TinaChase says:

      Hi Nancy! I’m not sure how long you’ve had yours, but I’ve probably had mine about 9 or 10 years now. I’m guessing as long as you don’t drop it and shatter it into a bunch of tiny pieces, it should last indefinately!

      They are a nice little gift item, aren’t they?

      I’m glad you are enjoying “Friday’s Favourites”. I plan to share more items on future Fridays…

  2. Kevin West says:

    That is a great idea Tina.I have tried orange peel in brown sugar and it never lasted.So i had to throw it out as hard as a rock.I will keep a look out for these.Maybe a store like Stokes would carry these.
    Thanks again for a good idea.

    1. TinaChase says:

      Hi Kevin!

      I’ve read about various tricks like putting a slice of apple or bread in with the sugar but I have never tried them. Sorry to hear the orange peel did not work. I’ve had hard brown sugar before, but I did not throw it out. In most cases I was able to break it into usuable pieces. You can also try using a hand grater to get back the granules if you have a big chunk you can hold onto.

      Hopefully you’ll be able to find one of the discs and never have to throw your brown sugar out again. I did find some places that sold them online, but you’ll likely end up paying more in shipping. You never know though…

      Thanks for checking out “Friday’s Favourites”.

  3. IRENE DAMICO says:

    INSTRUCTIONS ON BROWN SUGAR BOX WORKS VERY WELL. I TRIED IT THIS MORNING . I HAD THE BROWN SUGAR DISC IN ANOTHER CONTAINER. WHICH I LOVE ALSO HAVE THE WATCH POT. HAVE A GOOD DAY IRENE

  4. TinaChase says:

    Thanks for the comments everyone! I just “refreshed” my disc the other day. I’d had the same brown sugar in a container for quite a while and my brown sugar stayed great the entire time. What a great yet simple invention!

Leave a Reply

