Delicious Deviled Eggs

I made deviled eggs for the first time last week!

I’ve always liked deviled eggs, since the first time I tried them. I think I was a bit of a latecomer to deviled eggs, because I remember being at a baby shower for a co-worker (I was about 18 or 19 years old at the time) when I had them. What an interesting taste, and combination of textures. Yum!

As much as I liked them, and occasionally had the opportunity to snack on some at a buffet or get-together, the thought never really crossed my mind to make them myself.

Well, eggs were recently on sale and I bought a few dozen. When hubby saw the eggs, he commented how good deviled eggs might be. So, I set about scouring the internet for information and recipes on making the best devilled eggs. I couldn’t believe all the variations people had come up with, some subtle differences and others quite wild and creative.

I found this great site dedicated to devilled eggs: The Deviled Eggs Gourmet

As luck would have it, Cooking.com sent out a newsletter about deviled eggs that day too.  Here’s a link to their recipe selections: Cooking.com – Deviled Eggs

Deviled eggs are a perfect opportunity to check out my tips on making Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs too!

I ended up taking bits and pieces from a few different recipes, but here is what I ended up making:

Delicious Deviled Eggs

Ingredients

  • 6 hard boiled eggs; cooled and sliced length-wise
  • 3 TBSP mayonnaise + 1 TBSP Miracle Whip
  • 2 1/2 tsp Mustard;  Yellow and/or Dijon (See Note below)
  • 1/8 tsp Salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper (I omitted)
  • Garlic Powder (optional, to taste – maybe 1/2 – 1 tsp)
  • Chives (Optional, fresh chopped or dried – I snipped about 4-5 fresh leaves)
  • Paprika (to sprinkle over finished eggs; optional)

Note: There were as many variations on the mustard to mayonnaise ratio, as there were deviled egg recipes. I ended up using 1 1/4 tsp Dijon + 1 1/4 tsp yellow prepared mustard (2 1/2 tsp total). I found the mustard flavour a bit strong, but hubby said he really liked it. You might need to adjust depending on your tastes. Check out some of the recipes in the links I provided above for some inspiration.

Directions

Carefully remove the eggs yolks from the whites. They slide out pretty easily if you gently squeeze the sides of the egg white section. Place the empty egg white halves on a plate or platter and set aside.

Mash the yolks with a fork until they appear “powdery” without any huge lumps.

Add your remaining ingredients and mix thoroughly.

Now you can scoop the yolk mixture back into the egg white halves with just a spoon, or get fancy and pipe the filling in with a cake decorating bag and tip (like I did). If you don’t have a piping bag, I’ve been told a Ziploc bag with a small corner cut out will work in a jiffy.

Eat and Enjoy!

Do you like deviled eggs? Have I inspired you to make up a batch?

Leave a Reply

