Dinner Doldrums

Do you ever get tired of making dinner? I don’t mean too tired to actually prepare dinner… just tired of coming up with ideas for dinner.

I like cooking. In fact, I like cooking a lot. I’ve been told I’m pretty good at it too. Lately though, I just don’t feel inspired to make anything. I open the pantry and stare blankly at all the various cans and boxes and packages. I open the freezer and all I see are frozen blocks of items just waiting to be whipped up into something appetizing. If only they would give me a hint or two.

Normally, I have all kinds of ideas for meals. I love reading cookbooks. I sign up for all kinds of emails (probably too many) from cooking sites. Quite often I can even get ideas from reading the grocery store flyers and spotting something on sale. Lately though, nothing looks intriguing. I’d be happy eating a peanut butter sandwich or a bowl of cereal for dinner. In fact, it’s been known to happen on occasion too!

I just feel like I have the dinner doldrums….

Does this happen to you? What do you to get yourself out of the rut? I need some inspiration!!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. SandySays1 says:

    My Human goes through the same malaise – He has a trick that works. He goes to the frig, picks five items at random with eyes closed, to the pantry and picks three. Then he “invents” something. He says its challenging and fun.
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

    1. TinaChase says:

      Hi Sandy! Thanks for the suggestion. Pass the word on to your human that I will have to give that a try! I am just not sure how well eggs and peanut butter will go together… Maybe I will have to be more selective. : )

  2. Kevin West says:

    With me its not i get stuck in a route.Just sometimes, which is often i am the only one at home.So i dont feel like cooking a proper meal.
    If i had to cook every day i can relate to you Tina.
    My best time of the year i like to cook is when its winter, and cold out.Then i make many hearty things, like stews or baked beans.

    1. TinaChase says:

      Hi Kevin, I know what you mean about winter cooking. It’s nice to be able to cook up a batch of soup or stew and have it for dinner a few nights. I think it’s the summer heat that affects my appetite…. I don’t feel like cooking hot meals, and there are only so many salads and sandwiches I can take!!

  3. Jen says:

    Hi Tina, I can totally relate and I’m going thru the cooking doldrums lately. That’s when I go back to basics like grilled cheese, breakfast for dinner i.e. french toast, bacon & eggs or simply boil noodles & heat up sauce for a quick pasta dish. Once I tire of that I dig out the cookbooks with sticky notes on my favourite dishes and plan out a menu for the upcoming week making extras to freeze for those days when you just don’t feel like cooking…

    1. TinaChase says:

      Hi Jen! Thanks for all the ideas. We turn to many of the things you mention too!! We had pancakes one night last week. We also made a big batch of pasta earlier this week – that way we can have it for a few days and don’t need to think up new meals. We often make extra noodles and keep them in the fridge (plain), so we can eat it different ways. Sometimes I like just a bit of olive oil, cheese, garlic powder and herbs (or sauteed spinach). YUM!!

      Good idea about freezing meals. I wish I had more room in my freezer to do that (I miss my extra freezer). In the winter I will cook extra pot roasts or roast chickens and then freeze the meat. It’s not a whole meal, but certainly a good start to one!!

      I am sure once the weather starts to cool down more, I will be more inspired to cook…

Leave a Reply

