Knock, Knock – Who’s There?

Not me!  *Cough, Cough* 

I guess it’s time to do some dusting in here!

Maybe I’ll just leave the cobwebs, since it is getting close to Halloween. Ha Ha!!

It’s been a while since I last shared with you about my Dinner Doldrums. It took a bit longer to get out of my cooking rut than I expected.

Well, that’s not exactly right. You see, what happened was that I did finally try out a bunch of new recipes. The problem is, quite a few of them were not as good as I had hoped.

Now don’t get me wrong. None of them were inedible, or even awful. I just found they did not live up to my expectations. Maybe my expectations are too high, but I really don’t think so. It’s not like I am a trained gourmet chef, or eat at fancy restaurants. It’s just when I cook something with certain ingredients, I expect them to have certain flavour or taste.

I admit, I get a bit excited every time I am about to test out a new dish. I can’t wait to try it out when it’s done, and I also get kind of anxious to see hubby’s reaction. I won’t lie. It’s a bit disappointing when the dish ends up being kind of bland or boring. I guess it’s because I often spend quite a bit of time deciding on new things to try. I check out different versions of similar dishes for comparison. I read a lot of the comments people leave regarding the recipes, and quite often adjust according to the recommendations. I pick things that have flavours or ingredients we like. 

If the recipe is not something we thought was really good, I certainly don’t feel compelled to share it here. I also don’t share recipes that required way too much work for a result that was just okay. If I wouldn’t bother making it again, why would I suggest to someone else to make it?

I guess my question is, would you want to read about those recipes anyway? Is it something you’d consider giving feed-back on regarding how the recipe could have been improved, or maybe a similar recipe you have that you think is good? I am not sure if it’s a good topic for the blog. I realize everyone has different tastes, and what one person thinks is fantastic, another might not agree. Taste is subjective after all.

I know there are people out there who don’t eat certain things and might not enjoy any of the foods we like. However, I also know that there are numerous websites and blogs dedicated to different types of cooking. So, while I am likely not to attract those readers – that’s okay with me. I know that it is impossible to “please all of the people all of the time”.

I like to think that a lot of the items I cook are fairly mainstream, and would appeal to the average person or family. I like to cook things that don’t have obscure ingredients (you know those ones you buy and just use once). I’m on a budget (like many homes), and try to cook with things with that in mind. We try to eat healthy more often than not, and I can honestly say are buying much less pre-packaged foods and making more and more from scratch. 

Years ago, my job involved working out of town all the time. I was often forced to eat in restaurants on a regular basis. It sounds great, but I really did get tired of it. There were times I just wanted to go home and eat my own food in my own kitchen. Now, it is a very rare occasion for us to go out to eat at a restaurant. Even though we have our favourite go-to recipes, I am always on the lookout for something new and interesting to add to my cookbook. 

When I started this blog, my intention was not originally for it to be a cooking/food blog. Somewhere along the way, it took on a life of its own and sort of evolved into that. I have spent the past month or so mulling that over. Sometimes I want to write about other topics, but now I feel the blog kind of dictates what topics I should concentrate on. After writing this post, I realize that is okay. I guess food and nourishment is something we all need and share in common.

I really am enjoying this journey of cooking at home, and it really does make me happy to share it with others. Cooking has become somewhat a passion of mine, and I want to share my discoveries along the way. With that in mind, I truly hope you will enjoy joining me along this path too.

Bon Appetit!!

Leave a Reply

