Friday’s Flops – Frozen Fish Wrap

Hello to everyone out in blogger land! The past few months have been a veritable whirlwind . Many changes have been going on in our lives. To start with, we decided to make a fairly big move to a new city. I won’t bore you with all the reasons why we chose to do that, but it sure is turning out to be quite the adventure. We packed almost all of our belongings away in storage and moved about 4 hours drive away.  We don’t know anyone here, and we have no jobs lined up either! Are we crazy? Maybe just a little….

We’re currently renting a furnished place for a few months to see if we like the area. The place we are staying is pretty nicely equipped, which is good because we only brought some of our things with us. I do miss a few things… like our bed, our pantry and our kitchen work island to name a few. I feel quite comfortable in the apartment, but cooking is much more of a challenge in the small galley kitchen since there is hardly any counter space at all. We also really miss having a BBQ, especially with all this hot weather we’ve been having. It’s great when you can just plan a simple meal on the grill and just have a salad or something with it.

That’s where I’ve been. I’ve really missed visiting my blog though, so I thought I’d pop in and tell you about tonight’s dinner disaster.

Hubby was out exploring this evening so I thought I’d cook something he can’t stand to eat – FISH. I’d had these frozen “grilled” filets in the freezer for a while and I thought it was a great opportunity to try something new. A while back I saw a recipe for fish tacos, so I decided making a fish wrap would be a fun idea.

As the fish was cooking in the oven, I started noticing it had quite a “fishy” odour. Thankfully Hubby wasn’t here to complain!

Frozen Fish Wrap

  • a whole wheat tortilla
  • a bit of mayo
  • some fresh baby spinach
  • sliced tomato
  • and of course the fish (which I chopped up into bite-size pieces).

I sat down to enjoy my lovely concoction…. took one bite and became quite sad. First off, it tasted rather boring. Okay, not the end of the world. As I continued though, the fish was just awful – tasteless (except for fishy taste) and the texture was springy (almost rubbery, even though the fish was not overcooked). I swear if it was not for the tomatoes in the there, I would barely have been able to stomach finishing it.

Now, before you jump to any conclusions… I really do like quite a few different kinds of fish. I used to love all types of seafood at one time too, until I developed a severe allergy. Admittedly,  I do find fish that has batter or breadcrumbs more tasty, but there are plenty types of fish I enjoy plain. This was not one of them. I don’t know if it was the type of fish, the brand, or the fact that it was a frozen rectangle shaped block… Whatever the reason, I thought it was awful and seriously debated throwing out the other “filet” that I had to cook because they come packaged stuck together when frozen.

I have considered things that might have made it more tasty. Perhaps if I’d stuck to a taco idea and added salsa and taco fixings. Maybe I should have added some cheese and make a tartar type sauce to make it more like a fish-wich. Honestly though, I just don’t think anything would have helped salvage my meal.

Have you ever tried making anything like this? Is there something you’d recommend to make it taste better or do you think maybe it was just this particular type/brand of fish?

Frozen Disaster #2 – Green Tea Smoothie

Moving on, I also decided to try making a new recipe I had recently found for a green tea smoothie. I am not really a smoothie person, but there was a brand new blender in the cubpoard just begging to be used. Earlier this week, I picked up some frozen fruit and some greek yogurt (with honey) so I could give it a try. I mixed together:

  • green tea (cooled)
  • frozen peaches
  • a couple of spoonfuls of greek yogurt (honey added)
  • some ice cubes

I did a taste test and found it to have very little flavour. I then tried adding:

  • a small splash of orange juice
  • some frozen strawberries
  • a few more ice cubes

I tasted it again, and it still did not have much taste. I then added a teaspoon of honey to try and sweeten it up.

Final Rating: Mediocre

This did not blow me away by any means. It was very filling, but not really very flavourful. I know some might suggest adding a banana would improve it, but I don’t care much for them. To be honest, the only thing I could think to add to it was ice cream… which defeated the purpose of me trying to make a fairly healthy smoothie. So, I ended up with 3 cups of smoothie and managed to drink one cup. The rest is in the fridge.

Ah well, tomorrow is another day. Maybe it will turn out to be SENSATIONAL Saturday!

Do you have any food flops or success stories to share?

Leave a Reply

