ONE Day Coupons – Did you get your FREE Cereal?

Did you order the coupon from Life Made Delicious (Save.ca) for your free box of cereal? Did you remember to use it?

It was only good for ONE day (last week) – Tuesday, July 16th.

I didn’t… It was sweltering hot outside due to that almost week-long heat wave. The last thing I wanted to do was be going out to the grocery store for a box of cereal (free or not). I also forgot. I even left it out on my desk to remind me, but I didn’t notice it until almost midnight that day. DARN!

I don’t know about you, but these one day only coupons kind of bother me.

  • I don’t normally do my grocery shopping on the day they tend to pick, so I have to make a special trip or change my shopping day for the week.
  • I have to leave the coupon out somewhere to remind me because if I put it in my coupon organizer I am sure I would completely forget it was there.
  • The grocery stores more often than not do not have any in stock when I get there.

A couple of years ago, I recall General Mills had the same kind of promotion when they introduced Chocolate Cheerios. I made a point of doing my big grocery shop that day and went to several grocery stores, and even Walmart too. NONE of them had the promotional cereal in stock.

Last Wednesday, we had some errands to run and decided to go in the mall for a while to escape the heat. It was the hottest day with the humidex reaching the mid 40’s (celcius). We have no air conditioning and it was turning hubby into Mr. Cranky!

We sat in the lovely, cool air-conditioned food court and s-l-o-w-l-y sipped the $1 frozen lemonades from Tim Horton’s. Once those were done, we didn’t want to head back home to our sauna-like apartment, so we sauntered over to the (Real Canadian) Superstore for some salad fixings for dinner. The store is so huge, it’s easy to waste some time trying to stay cool in there and nobody will notice!

As I was casually strolling the aisles, I came upon a sale/feature bin at the back of the store which contained a few dozen boxes of cereal with bright pink 50% off stickers. As I got closer, I realized it was the “free with the coupon” Cheerios and Fibre 1 cereal from the previous day! Another lady beside me said “So, TODAY they have them! They didn’t have any YESTERDAY…” How interesting, so I guess the store tried to appease some shoppers by offering them at half-price. I decided to pick up one of each!

Of course there were no prices on the boxes or a sign attached to the bin. I completely forgot to check the cereal aisle, so I had to get the cashier to scan for a price when I checked out. The regular price at RCSS that day was $4.49, so I got two boxes for the price of one (or about $2.25 each). It’s not free, but not a bad price. We were running low on cereal, so it worked out okay for us.

I haven’t tried them yet, so I’ll have to let you know what I think of these another time…

What do you think of ONE DAY coupons? Did you get your free cereal? If so, how did you like it?

Leave a Reply

