What Not to Eat: Meat?

I was just visiting a Facebook page that I have been following for quite some time. This person has a cookbook they have published that has become quite popular. The author recently announced that she has gone back to vegetarianism (after a break for a few years) and will never add meat into her diet. She has decided not to continue printing her book, as it does contain many meat recipes. Her plan is to work on a vegetarian/pescetarian cookbook, which will have veggie & fish recipes.

In a later post, she does state that she won’t delete the meat recipes from her site because she knows and respects that the majority of people in our culture do eat meat – “I respect others’ food choices, and ask that in return, mine are respected as well.”

That pretty much sums up how I feel regarding my choice to eat meat. I understand cutting down on read meat for health reasons, and we really don’t eat it very often. We will occasionally have meatless meals too, but mostly just because we like how they taste.

That being said, I don’t want to get into a big debate about eating meat or not BUT there are two things I want to throw out there…

  • For those who choose to not eat meat for moral reasons, why do some still eat fish and seafood? How is a fish or lobster different than cow or a pig (other than the obvious)?
  • Why are there so many products on the market made to resemble meat, both in taste/texture and the way they look? Why not just eat more natural foods the way they grow?

Just some “food for thought” for today…

Meatless Monday

I know a lot of people have started to implement “Meatless Monday” (or one day a week without meat). When making these types of meals, I find it quite difficult to balance great taste with something that is filling enough for my 6’4″ hubby (unless I make massive portions). While I tend to like most vegetables, hubby only likes some and there are a lot he won’t eat at all. We do not cook with any meat substitutes like tofu or TVP (textured vegetarian protein). In the end, I usually resort to making some type of pasta dish when we have a meatless meal.

While doing a search for “Meatless Monday” I did come across a variety of websites and blogs. Here are a couple I am going to check out for recipe ideas:

Meatless Monday

Do you do “Meatless Monday”? Do you have any favourite meatless meals to share that are both tasty and satisfying?

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Ani D says:

    I go meatless most days and will be going full-on vegetarian soon haha I have tons of vegetarian (and vegan) dishes on my blog if you are curious!

    1. TinaChase says:

      Hi Ani – Thanks so much for stopping by! I just checked out your blog and am now following. While I don’t foresee our household ever becoming vegetarian (let alone vegan), I am completely open to trying some new recipes. Hubby might be harder to convince, so I’ll have a look through your site for some ideas… Thanks again!

      1. Ani D says:

        It can be a lot harder when you are responsible for cooking for other people. That is the only reason I have not gone 100% vegetarian – I am the one that cooks for my family and my brothers and dad are not too happy about meatless meals haha

        A great option is to make a meatless option for yourself (like pasta with roasted veggies) and then toss in some chicken sausage with their serving.

      2. TinaChase says:

        Great ideas Ani! Pasta seems to be the most versatile. I will quite often have garlic, olive oil and parmesan cheese with sauteed or steamed veggies, while hubby has tomato sauce with some kind of meat and cheese. We make our own homemade pizzas including the dough! I load mine up with spinach, mushrooms, peppers, onions (even if I am having some meat) and hubby makes one to his liking!

      3. Ani D says:

        I love doing homemade pizzas!! Everyone can put exactly what they want on it 🙂 have you ever tried grilling pizza? It is sensational!

      4. TinaChase says:

        Ani, yes homemade pizzas are great! That way you don’t have to worry about putting ingredients on half and someone having to pick off any that accidentally snuck over to their side.

        I have never grilled a pizza. We don’t currently have a BBQ, but when we did it was deemed for meat only (not even fish was allowed). Grilling on the BBQ was for the man of the house, so I really didn’t mind relinquishing my cooking duties once in a while. 🙂

  2. kitchenr jon says:

    Hi Tina,
    We go meatless almost every day even though we aren’t vegetarians. We cook meat maybe once a week and eat it when others serve it or if we go out. We just try to limit the amount. It makes cooking a bit more challenging but we like the increased diversity of what we eat and feel healthy eating so many veggies. We also are able to afford to buy better quality local meat from farms we trust when we aren’t buying as much of it.
    We don’t do “meat substitutes” because we don’t really like them. After some reading (most notably “May All Be Fed” by John Robbins) I decided that worrying about the amount of protein we consume wasn’t that important. He points out that most north americans eat way too much protein and that this has been linked to negative health consequences. Regardless of whether that’s true or not, I don’t find that I need a hunk of meat or meat substitute on my plate to make me feel full, just a good balance of things. If you’re curious about what our week of eating looks like check out my meal plans, which I post most weeks.
    -Jon

    1. TinaChase says:

      Hi Jon! Thanks for stopping by. It’s always interesting to hear how other people came by their decision to eat differently.

      I’ll have to look up that book. I don’t feel like we eat a crazy amount of meat, but I like eating some. I just don’t like the idea of “meat substitutes” – I think I’d rather have none then. I can feel full without meat, but my hubby doesn’t tend to agree! LOL

      Anyway, thanks again for your note. I’ll definitely be back to check out some more ideas on your blog! Have a super weekend!

  3. kitchenr jon says:

    Oh, and in response to your question about land versus sea, we don’t eat much seafood either . For us it’s less about animal rights and more about good stewardship of the Earth and use of resources.

    1. TinaChase says:

      Hi Jon, just curious what you mean by your “good stewardship” comment. Do you mean fishermen stripping the seas of fish and depleting resources – that kind of thing?

      1. kitchenr jon says:

        Hey Tina,
        Okay, so by “good stewardship” I mean taking good care of all the many resources we’ve been given on this Earth. In the case of farm-raised animals I believe that they have put in their lot with us for their advancement as species so it’s okay to eat them, it’s part of the deal they struck in being domesticated but in return we owe them a “good life,” albeit one the culminates normally with them being eaten. I don’t believe they should be raised on a diet of soy and corn but rather pasture-raised without being confined in tight factory operations. When it comes to the sea it seems hard to verify where the fish/seafood came from exactly and how it has been harvested, whether or not the people fishing it are just catching as much as possible or treating it like an important resource that needs to be cared for. Thus it’s easier for me just to eat a lot less of it than go to the trouble to figure out what’s good for the Earth and what isn’t. I don’t stick to this 100% of the time, but I try to aim for foods that I can feel are being responsibly raised/grown/harvested. That’s why I love the local online farmers market we have here in KW, Bailey’s Local Foods, which only sells products that they feel meet a certain level of standards with regards to locality, sustainability, organic, and other factors.
        Does that clarify things or am I just rambling? And yes, happy weekend to you too!

Leave a Reply

