Blogger’s Block!

I’m sure you’ve all heard the term writer’s block… well, I sometimes feel like I have “Blogger’s Block”.

Maybe I could coin that term? Ah, I just googled it and it’s already been thought of. Not surprising, since it’s been said there’s really nothing original out there, just new and improved versions of older ideas. The likelihood is if you think you’ve come up with a new idea, it’s likely someone else already has too.

I just stumbled across this sonnet by Shakespeare that I thought captured the sentiment well. If you’d like, feel free to read the entire work here: Sonnet 59

This is the part I wanted to share:

If there be nothing new, but that which is
Hath been before, how are our brains beguiled,
Which, labouring for invention, bear amiss
The second burden of a former child.

Since it’s 2013, I thought I’d also share the paraphrased version (from the same source above):

If there is nothing new under the sun, but that which
Has been before, how are our brains cheated,
Which, toiling to create something new, mistakenly
Brings forth something that already exists

Sometimes when you are trying to come up with an idea to write about, it’s hard not to wonder if/when someone else has already covered the topic. I suppose if every person creating something new thought this way, we would never have any new books, movies, tv shows, buildings, cars, recipes, works of art or the like.

There are no new ideas. There are only new ways of making them felt.
~ Audre Lorde

I think the secret is to just put your own personal spin on an idea and toss it out there! Maybe it will seem unique and interesting to someone, even if just one other person than yourself!

If all else fails, go for a walk and get some fresh air (OR spend way too much time creating some fun graphics for your blog post). It’s amazing what a new perspective can do to clear the cobwebs…

Do you encounter lulls in your creativity? What do you do to get through them?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Ralph says:

    Blogging overload hit me hard once and I just had to stop for a while. As I don’t post everyday I don’t seem to have a lull problem as I don’t force a post. Something always seems to pop up eventually. 😀 Have a great day Tina 😀

    1. TinaChase says:

      Hi Ralph! I also don’t write every day, so I think that makes it much easier. I have a bunch of ideas I keep in one place – many come to fruition and some sit there for a long time waiting to be worked on. I guess it’s the same with anyone who works with the creative process. I’ll keep writing as long as it brings me enjoyment… and hopefully connect with some interesting people on the web along the way too!

      1. Ralph says:

        Thanks for replying Tina. I don’t know why but I am going to follow you for a while. I cut my follows back from 375 to 62 as I was being overloaded. It’s now 63. I may not post for a while as I have a fellow blogger visiting for 5 days on Saturday from London and I also have a teddy bear that’s on a world tour and will go back to London with Ute. There are so many interesting people in WP whom I have met on line and I am beginning to meet them face to face which is a real bonus. Perhaps one day we will meet, who knows 😀

      2. TinaChase says:

        Well Ralph, thanks for taking the time to write and for following along. I read about your teddy bear and your upcoming visitor from London. How exciting! Have a super time. I have met many wonderful people online all around the world and I do hope to meet some of them in person one day too. You just never know! Take Care and have fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

