Steamy Saturday

Steam Showerhead, photo: swgasliving
Ah, some days there is nothing as wonderful as a hot, steamy shower.

Today, for some reason my shower felt sublime! I’m not sure what made it special over any other day… maybe because the house was quiet and nobody was knocking at the door to come in the bathroom, or maybe just because it’s Saturday! Whatever the reason, it is one of those little things I am grateful for.

After my shower I had a lovely steaming cup of tea and some toast (homemade bread) with jam (not homemade, but still very tasty).

Steamy Cup of Tea

What would top off this “Steamy Saturday”?

I would love some Steamed Pork Dumplings with Peanut Sauce! I don’t have everything I need to make this for dinner tonight… but I will have to add it to the menu idea list (yes, I keep one on the fridge).

Steaming Gadgets

This topic got me to thinking about gadgets I have (or had) in the kitchen to steam food:

Electric Food Steamer

Electric Food Steamer
I used to have one of these years ago, but I gave it away. It took up a lot of cupboard space and I found it to be a bit slow and not very convenient to use.

Pampered Chef Micro-Cooker - Small

Pampered Chef Micro-Cooker:
This was my very first Pampered Chef purchase many years ago. I use it all the time and it works fantastic for steaming smaller batches of veggies. I love the handle and the built-in strainer/steam holes in the top!

Pampered Chef Micro-Cooker - Large

Pampered Chef Micro-Cooker
My Mother-in-law bought this for me after we attended a Pampered Chef party together. I love it almost as much as my small one. It works great for bigger batches and cleanup is a breeze.

Butterfly Steamer

Butterfly Steamer (Metal)
This steamer has definitely been around in my kitchen the longest. I hardly ever use it, but it fits perfectly in the middle of my stainless mixing bowls so it tags along. I most recently used it while making chicken soup to keep the  items you add for flavour (but discard) separated. Easy! Just lift out and drain.

Bamboo Steamer

Bamboo Steamer
I bought one of these at a yard sale many, many years ago. When we were moving, Hubby said we never used it so I sold it at our yard sale. Then a few years ago, we started making our own steamed dumplings… I really had to search to find a new one, but I really like our dual tier steamer.

Well, that’s it for “Steamy Saturday”… I am off to enjoy the rest of my day. I think it might be time for a fresh cup of tea!

How do you cook your veggies? Do you have specialty steamer appliances or gadgets?

Leave a Reply

