Fallin’ for Fall

We are currently staying at my mother-in-laws house for a bit. Last week, while hubby was bringing some things in from the truck, the cat ran outside. She is not supposed to be out at night, so I went outside to see if I could coax her back in. It was fairly dark, and I forgot about the asphalt wheelchair ramp that was put in when they had the driveway paved a while back….

Needless to say, I tripped over the side and took a bit of a spill. I managed to scrape my left shoulder, palm, knee and cheek. As the night went on, my right ankle started to swell up too. Ouch!

It turns out I sprained my ankle pretty badly, and after a week and a half, I am using a cane and still not able to put a lot of weight on it. Thankfully most of the swelling has gone down. I have to admit, I’ve been going a bit squirrelly having to sit in bed with my foot elevated. Simple things I normally take for granted now require a lot more planning, forethought and energy! It really made me realize how lucky I was/am.

Looking back, I am quite thankful because I know it could have been MUCH worse.

Hmmm… I guess I was so excited about my favourite season (Autumn), that I had to welcome it in with a nice FALL! 😉

Anyway, I decided to hit google for some songs about falling. I found this fun one by Elvis Costello called: “I Can’t Stand Up For Falling Down”. I admit I’m not very familiar with his music so I’d never heard this song before, but it’s kinda catchy and the video is pretty funny.

I love the cooler weather of fall; it makes me start thinking about making delicious comfort foods like soups, stews and Shepherd’s Pie. Is your fall is off to a good start? Are you enjoying this lovely (cooler) weather? Do you start planning for different meals in the fall? 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Ralph says:

    I hope you are feeling better now Tina. Ralph xox 😀

    1. TinaChase says:

      Thanks Ralph! I am on the mend. Slow going… but better every day. 🙂

      1. Ralph says:

        It’s taking its time to heal, but I’m glad to hear that there is improvement. Have a lovely weekend Tina 😀

Leave a Reply

