Friday’s Favourites: Astro Lime Yogourt

Hello, today I thought I’d share a new favourite of mine: Astro Lime Yogourt

I admit, when it comes to yogourt I am pretty predictable. Even though I occasionally try other flavours, I always come back to my two favourites: Peach and Strawberry.

Recently, I was at the grocery store and went to the dairy aisle to pickup some yogourt. I only ever buy what’s on sale and whatever brand does not contain any artificial sweeteners (they taste like chemicals to me). I noticed Astro yogourt was on sale and after making sure it contained actual sugar, I began hunting for my go-to flavours. It was the last day of the sale, so the store was kind of wiped out on some items, including my number one favourite flavour – peach. I grabbed a container of strawberry (Astro Smooth ‘n Fruity) and then quickly scanned the shelves for another flavour. That’s when lime caught my eye and I decided to give it a try!

The next morning I had yogourt mixed with my favourite granola for breakfast. The verdict? This yogourt was REALLY good! It was thick and creamy and just the right hint of lime. Yum!

That’s when I got to thinking… Why is this yogourt so thick and delicious? After checking the container, I noticed it was 6% milk fat. Oops!! Oh well. That was my fault for being in a hurry and trying to get my groceries 15 minutes before the store closed. LOL

That being said, I would definitely buy it again. I REALLY like that it is made without gelatin and has ingredients I can pronounce:

Skim milk, cream, sugar, skim milk powder, natural flavour, natural colour, agar, active bacterial cultures.

I have really started trying to buy and cook with more natural ingredients and am willing to sacrifice that it might sometimes have a higher fat content (especially if it is something I don’t eat every day).

How about you? Have you changed your buying or eating habits recently? Has it ever been because you bought something by accident and decided you liked it better than you regular brand or flavour?

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sharon Petgrave says:

    I stopped worrying about the low-fat , calorie reduced products for quite a while now. I realized that they contain more artificial items than I want to consume. I just eat less of the regular products and ones, as you say, with things I can pronounce and don’t need a food guide to figure out what they are. Thanks for posting this, I have had lime yogurt and love it too. I make my own plain yogurt in Jamaica and just add fresh fruit and honey when needed or Agave if I have it.

    1. TinaChase says:

      Hi Sharon, thanks so much for the comments. I sure understand where you are coming from. I especially like your comment about realizing that those products contain more artificial items than you want to consume. I feel the same way! It’s still a work in progress but I am making a much more conscious effort to replace things we normally eat with those containing more “natural” ingredients. I have not made my own yogourt but somewhere I have instructions on doing this in a slow cooker. Do you have a yogourt maker? I have not tried agave, but have been looking into alternatives to white sugar (that are not artificial sweeteners). I’m curious if you still use sugar when cooking. I know you enjoy baking and not all recipes turn out well if you substitute liquid sugars (like honey).

Leave a Reply

